Adrian's Journal

Issue #7 - Imagination

Imagination in a nation of images.

I dreamt that phrase this morning - I have no clue what it means. I suppose my imagination was at work there, doing what I wanted it to do. I’m writing this using my iPhone keyboard. I wanted to try out something new today, and experiment with a new medium. I thought, perhaps, learning to write quickly with an iPhone keyboard might be an interesting challenge. My thumbs are far more dexterous than I imagined. I still have some typing issues.

My imagination is still struggling. I am happy to practice the arts, and I appreciate the results, but I always feel immense dissatisfaction at my every result. I feel incomplete and upset at everything I make, as though I ought to have put in more effort or something. But I don’t believe art is an effort-based pursuit, necessarily.